Forza, Jimmie!

Today Jimmie Johnson added his name to those of John Force, Michael Schumacher, Tony Schumacher, the New York Yankees, the Boston Celtics, and the Montreal Canadiens on the short list of elites who have won five consecutive championships.

This year he had to fight hard for it, beating out Denny Hamlin by only 39 points and Kevin Harvick by 41. This was Johnson’s first come-from-behind championship; Hamlin led by 15 at the start of the last race of the season in Homestead.

Congratulations to Jimmie, Chad, Rick, and the whole Hendrick team! Now get out there and put those pit crews through some extra training in the off-season so you can try for a sixth. This one was way too close for comfort.

Voodoo Bob

Leave a Reply





You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>